Why are all my outpost matches higher level than my survivors?

All my guys are level 17s, but I very seldom get matched with anything but level 20s. Once in a blue moon I'll get matched with someone with similar level survivors. It's not a huge deal as I normally just raid for TGs, but it's nice to at least have a chance to sometimes get influence points, and I almost never have any chance at all for that. How are the matches made?
Winner of the 'Post Your Worst Jackpot' contest Jan18
Xenathewarrioriivii

Comments

• DoTakDoTak Member Posts: 1,964
    @valereee
    I'm no expert on the subject of outpost mechanics, but I think matchups are made using your influence score. What is your influence?

My guess is your influence is high (5000+?) so most players at your level happen to have higher level survivors
    CarlyLightfeetXenathewarrior
  • TJSTJS Member Posts: 4,501
    I don't know what it's based on either but with match up like this I'm guessing it pretty random.
    -
    TJS  -  Member of W-S
    Nation Wars 🇦🇺 Australian Team Captain
    XenathewarriorOvergrowdaworldiivii
  • GladiGladi Member Posts: 616
    @DoTak I believe 3k tier is enough for @valereee to get lvl20 oponents. Hard to imagine that someone with lvl17 survs can make it to 5k tier, but maybe Im just lame and some ppl can do that.
    Dear @valereee , if you are at 3k influence or higher, try to lower it to get lower lvl oponents matches. Or keep tking TGs only...
  • valereeevalereee Member Posts: 179
    Oops, sorry, totally missed that there were more responses here, sorry! My player level is 63 w/ Influence of 2400 or so with level 20 survivors, and yes I'm still getting matched almost exclusively with level 22s, lol. The downside of training more slowly than most people do is outpost, I guess
  • DLichDLich Member Posts: 5,538
    Before this thread gets shut down for necromancing; lvl 63 should have lvl 21 or 22 survivors. You need to upgrade your survivors.