Absolute beginner's guide to TWD

SkywithinSkywithin Member Posts: 22
edited July 22 in Strategy Discussion
I've recently created a second account primarily for guild wars (GW) purpose. It gave me an opportunity to look at the game from a different angle and, to my surprise, this second account became very useful and playable within a few weeks. About a month after I started my clone was successfully participating in GW finishing off bosses and collecting close to 500 stars in weekly challenges. I want to share my experience with players who recently started the game - absolute beginners.

When I started my goals were:
  • Build Council lvl 12 to be able to participate in GW as soon as possible.
  • Get my heroes/survivors level as high as possible as quickly as possible.
  • Be able to complete easy Distance.
  • Be able to provide reasonable help with weekly challenges.
  • Free-to-play (F2P). Don't spend any cash.

Two Bottlenecks

The main bottleneck in the game is tomatoes - resource you need to upgrade buildings. You'll need more and more tomatoes as you upgrade your camp. Tomatoes can be obtained in reasonably good amounts from farms, scavenge missions and the distance. The amount of tomatoes you get from scavenge missions depends on the level of your top hero/survivor. The higher your survivor's level, the more tomatoes you get as a reward and the harder zombies will be in that location. Classic catch 22: you need to train your survivors to be able to complete harder missions, you need more tomatoes to upgrade training grounds and the workshop, but in order to get more tomatoes you need higher level survivors. If you start training your survivors from ground up you'll encounter a second bottleneck - XP. These bottlenecks are like a Gordian knot - you don't need to solve it, you need to cut through it! 

Magic number 9